Goderich Main Light
By Dave Wobser

Built in 1847 to guide mariners into the harbor at Goderich, Ontario this light continues to be an active aid to navigation.

The square masonry tower is only 35-feet tall, but stands atop a high bluff overlooking the Goderich water front. The tower is painted white, and the lantern and roof are bright red. One can see the optic inside the lantern.

Goderich brags that visitors can see the sunset twice at the lighthouse. First watch the sunset at the beach, then quickly climb the stairs to the top of the bluff to see the sun set again.

The tower is located in a small public park at the end of Lighthouse Street. Visitors can also park along the beach and walk up a long set of stairs that run up the bluff.

Goderich is the current home of the retired laker WILLOWGLEN, which is used for grain storage. Vessel traffic into Goderich is generated by grain elevators and a salt mine dock.

Click on image to enlarge

Photographs by Dave Wobser

Location: Goderich, Ontario
Date Built: 1847
Active: Yes

Open to
public:

Yes, grounds only
Return to Lighthouses of the Great Lakes Lake Huron Index

Copyright Lighthouse.Boatnerd.com