A Lake Michigan coastal light, half way between North Bay and Moonlight Bay, four miles North East of Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin.
Built in 1870 on a small island, the light replaced the Baileys Harbor Light.
The yellow brick 88-foot high tower was sheathed in steel plates in 1901 and painted white. The tower is topped by a 10-sided lantern and automated light, shining through a Third Order Fresnel lens, and is visible for 17 miles.
The attached yellow brick dwelling, stone oil house, and brick outhouse are leased to the Door County Maritime Museum.
Located at the end of Cana Island Road off Highway 57 north of Baileys harbor, Wisconsin. Park at the edge of the road and walk the gravel path to the island. The path can be under water during normal water level conditions.
The station is leased to the Door County Maritime Museum and is open to the public daily 10:00 am to 5:00 pm. The keepers dwelling may be in use as a private dwelling.
Door County, Wisconsin boasts of having more lighthouses than any other county. The Door County Maritime Museum hosts an Annual Lighthouse Walk each year in May that offers a chance to visit and tour lighthouses not normally open to the public .
|Return to Lighthouses of the Great Lakes||Lake Michigan Index|
Copyright © Lighthouse.Boatnerd.com