Selkirk (Salmon River) Lighthouse
This charming fieldstone, two-story keepers dwelling with a lantern room mounted on the roof saw only a little more than 20 years of service. The light marked the mouth of the Salmon River about four miles west of Pulaski, NY.
The light was discontinued in 1859 and never was fitted with a Fresnel lens. The lantern is a unique style that resembles a children's jungle gym. The eight sides are covered with small glass window panes.
The lighthouse is available for rental by groups of 6 to 8 people. This is done in the same manner as you would rent a condo or cottage with a group of friends. The lighthouse was put up for sale in 2003 and the future is uncertain. For more information www.main.com/lights, or vial e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org or call 315-298-6688.
The State of New York maintains a wonderful scenic by-way called the Seaway Trail. Along this roadway are many lighthouses, all described in a pamphlet called Seaway Trail Lighthouses, which is available from Seaway Trail, Inc., Madison Barracks, 109 Barracks Drive, Sackets Harbor, NY 13685.
|Return to Lighthouses of the Great Lakes||Lake Ontario Index|
Copyright © Lighthouse.Boatnerd.com