South Breakwater Inner Light
The original Duluth South Breakwater Inner Light was built in 1889 and served as a Rear Range Light for the Outer Light, which had been completed in 1873.
The present Inner Light was completed in 1901, at the same time as the present Outer Light was completed and the breakwater was extended. The light is a pyramidal steel skeleton frame which supports a round watch room with an 8-sided lantern on top. A center steel tube contains the stairs leading to the watch room. The focal plane of the light is 68 feet above the water. The Fourth Order Fresnel lens was made by Barbier and Bernard of Paris in 1896. The lens has six panels each with a bulls-eye center that create a flash pattern as the lens rotates.
The tower is located next to the well-known Duluth Lift Bridge across the canal from Canal Park. Visitors can walk up to the tower, but access is not permitted to this active aid to navigation.
Click on images to enlarge
|Return to Lighthouses of the Great Lakes||Lake Superior Index|
Copyright © Lighthouse.Boatnerd.com