South Breakwater Outer Light
After the completion of the cut through Minnesota Point in 1872, between Lake Superior and Superior Bay, a light was needed to mark the entrance to the Duluth Ship Canal. Congress appropriated $10,00 in 1870 for a light to be erected "at the terminus of the Northern Pacific Railroad and the light was completed in 1873 on the end of the south breakwater. The keepers residence was on shore.
The original (1870) Outer Light served as a Front range Light when the first South Breakwater Inner Light was erected in 1889. Both lights were replaced in 1901, by the lights that presently exist, when the pier was extended.
The Outer Light is a brick fog signal building with 35-foot light tower rising from the northwest corner of the building. The round cast iron lantern room is one of only a few with helical bars on the windows or panels. The Fourth Order lens was built by Barbier and Fenestre of Paris in 1877 and is believed to be the lens from the original 1877 light.
Visitors can walk out the south pier for a close look at the lighthouse. It is an active aid to navigation and the building is not open to the public.
|Return to Lighthouses of the Great Lakes||Lake Superior Index|
Copyright © Lighthouse.Boatnerd.com